

## **Staff Senate**

http://www.staffsenate.vt.edu/

#### 2016-2017

#### STAFF SENATE OFFICERS

**President: Alex Parrish** 

Biomedical Engineering & Mechanics Innovation Place, Suite 302 406 Collegiate Square Blacksburg, VA 24061 540-231-7530

x3iv@vt.edu

#### **Vice-President: Robert Sebek**

University Libraries 3045 Newman Library 560 Drillfield Drive Blacksburg, VA 24061 540-231-1849 rsebek@vt.edu

Secretary/ Treasurer/

Parliamentary Advisor: Tammie

**Smith** 

Summer & Winter Sessions EDM Marketing 300 Turner Street, NW North End Center 3500 Blacksburg, VA 24061 540/231-7327(O) tjsmith@vt.edu

#### STANDING COMMITTEES CHAIRS

Communications

Katrina Loan (<u>katrll1@vt.edu</u>), Physics (0435)

**Elections and Nominations** 

Jon Wooge (<u>iwooge@vt.edu</u>), CALS College Farm (0402)

Policies and Issues

Sheree Montgomery (sheree@vt.edu),

FS - Campus Space Planning (0547)

McComas Leadership Seminar

**Heather Parrish** 

(parrish1@vt.edu), Chair Veterinary Medicine (0442)

Tammie Smith (tjsmith@vt.edu),

Co-Chair

Summer & Winter Sessions (0392)

March 16, 2017 12:00 Noon – 1:00 P.M The Inn at Virginia Tech (Duck Pond Room)

#### **AGENDA**

Call to order by vice-president, Robert Sebek

Attendance: Please sign the attendance sheet.

**Approval of Minutes** (electronically)

**Staff Senate Standing Committees** – Updates

- Communications
- Elections and Nominations
  - Open spots to be elected
- Policies and Issues
- McComas Leadership Seminar

**University Council, Commission, Committees** – Updates

Ombudsman Resolution - Update

**Constitution Amendment** – Initial discussion

Adjournment

#### SAVE THE DATE

Staff Senate Meeting, April 20, 2017, Location: TBD

#### WebEx Information

### Join WebEx meeting

Meeting number (access code): 643 698 041

Join by phone

+1-855-749-4750 US TOLL FREE

+1-415-655-0001 US TOLL

Toll-free calling restrictions

Can't join the meeting?

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Please note that this WebEx service allows audio and other information sent during the session to be recorded, which may be discoverable in a legal matter. By joining this session, you automatically consent to such recordings. If you do not consent to being recorded, discuss your concerns with the host or do not join the session.

# **University Council, Commissions, Committees - Staff Senate Representative (term of office)**

University Council – Robin Lawson (2019) Teresa Lyons (2019), Judy Alford (2018), Tracey Drowne (2018), Sue Teel (2017), vacant (2017), vacant (2017),

#### **Commissions**

Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty – Sue Teel (2018)

Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity – Robin Lawson (2019), James Venable (2018), Melissa Elliott (2017),

Commission on Faculty Affairs – Velva Groover (2018)

Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies – Hannah Parks (2017)

Commission on Outreach and International Affairs – Bonnie Alberts (2018)

Commission on Research – Steve Nagle (2019)

Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs – Robert Sebek (2018), Chair (2017), LaTawnya Burleson (2019), Teresa Lyons (2019), Betty Wilkins (2019), LeeAnn Ellis (2018), Danette Poole (2018), Janet Murphy (2017), Julie Shumaker (2017), Sue Teel (2017)

Commission on Student Affairs – Ronald Mecham (2017)

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies – Robert Jacks (2019)

Commission on University Support – Heather Parrish (2018), Christina Lapel (2017)

University Advisory Council -Strategic Budgeting and Planning - Alex Parrish (2019)

#### **Committees**

Academic Support Committee – Tammie Smith (2019)

Athletics Committee – Robena Hughes (2017)

Campus Development Committee – Melissa Elliott (2017)

Commencement Committee – Peter Johnston (2018)

Computing and Communicating Resources Committee (suspended 2016-2017)

Employee Benefits Committee – Katrina Loan (2019), Melissa Thomas (2019), Tami Watson (2017)

Energy & Sustainability Committee – Judy Taylor (2019), Alex Guest (2019)

Intellectual Properties Committee – Katrina Loan (2018)

Library Committee – Mark Steen (2017)

Parking Appeals Hearing Committee – Kelli Hall-Manning (2019)

Transportation/Parking Committee – Tami Watson (2018), Annabelle Fuselier (2017), Bruce Harper (2017)

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee – Rachel Saville (2019)