

2017-2018

STAFF SENATE OFFICERS

President: Robert Sebek University Libraries 3045 Newman Library (0434) 560 Drillfield Drive Blacksburg, VA 24061 540-231-1849 rsebek@vt.edu

Vice President – Tammie Smith Summer & Winter Sessions EDM Marketing 300 Turner Street, NW North End Center 3500 Blacksburg, VA 24061 540-231- 7327(O) tjsmith@yt.edu

Secretary/ Treasurer/: Heather Parrish

Veterinary Medicine (0442) 205 Duck Pond Drive Blacksburg, VA 24061 540-231-5007 parrish1@vt.edu

Parliamentary Advisor: Brian Huddleston Veterinary Medicine (0442) 205 Duck Pond Drive Blacksburg, VA 24061 brihud79@vt.edu

STANDING COMMITTEES CHAIRS

<u>Communications</u> **Katrina Loan (<u>katrll1@vt.edu</u>)**, Physics (0435)

<u>Elections and Nominations</u> Jon Wooge (<u>jwooge@vt.edu</u>), CALS College Farm (0402)

Policies and Issues Robert Sebek (<u>rsebek@vt.edu</u>) University Libraries (0434)

<u>McComas Leadership Seminar</u> Tammie Smith (<u>tjsmith@vt.edu</u>) Summer & Winter Sessions (0392)

Staff Senate

http://www.staffsenate.vt.edu/

July 20, 2017<u>,</u> Noon – 1:00 P.M North End Center 2420 **AGENDA**

Call to order by Robert Sebek

Attendance: Please sign the attendance sheet.

Welcome to Staff Association Officers

Standing Committees – Please sign up for 2017-2018 standing committee of your choice. As a reminder these change from year-to-year, so if you want on the same committee, you need to write your name down on that sheet.

Approval of Minutes (electronically)

Staff Senate Standing Committees - Overview & Updates

- Communications: Ms. Loan
- Elections and Nominations: Mr. Wooge
- Policies and Issues: Mr. Sebek
- McComas Leadership Seminar: Ms. Smith

University Council, Commission, Committees: Updates

Mentoring of New Leaders: Mr. Sebek

Presentation: April Myers: Shared Governance

Constitutional amendment: 2nd reading (attached below)

Resolution: UC Resolution 2017-18A: Resolution to Amend the University Council By-Laws as recommended by the Governance Task Force (First reading) Ms. Teel

Standing committee meetings

Ajournment

WebEx Information

(https://virginiatech.webex.com/virginiatech/j.php?MTID=meda2dff9fadb0122e08e87e2e1 d006c6) Meeting number (access code): 310 004 583 Host key: 140296

JOIN BY PHONE +1-855-749-4750 US TOLL FREE +1-415-655-0001 US TOLL

RESOLUTION ON AMENDMENT TO STAFF SENATE CONSTITUTION Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs Resolution 2016-17B

Approved, Staff Senate: First Reading, Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs: Second Reading, CSPA: First Reading, University Council: Second Reading, University Council: Approved, President: Approved, Board of Visitors: Effective Date: MHEREAS, the Constitution of the Staff Senate serves as a self-governing document; and WHEREAS, changes reflected in the Constitution of the Staff Senate are served with sufficient oversight by University Council.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Article 10, number 6 of the Virginia Tech Staff Senate

Constitution be amended as follows:

10. Amendments

The approval process of amendments to the Constitution shall be

- 1. A proposal for an amendment must be submitted to the Executive Committee for review and clarification.
- 2. A notice that an amendment is to be proposed must be given by the Executive Committee to all members of the Staff Senate at least thirty days before the meeting when the amendment will be proposed. The notice shall contain the proposed amendment in context or general nature of the matter.
- 3. A proposed amendment may be discussed at the regular meeting the amendment is proposed.
- 4. Proposed amendments shall not be voted on until at least one regular meeting after the introduction of the amendment.
- 5. A proposed amendment shall first be approved by simple majority vote of the Staff Senate.
- 6. Amendments to the Constitution shall become effective upon approval by a simple majority vote of the staff associations' voting members and by the University Council, President of the University, and Board of Visitors.

University Council, Commissions, Committees - Staff Senate Representative (term of office)

University Council – LaTawyna Burleson (2020), Brian Huddleston (2020), Katrina Loan (2020), Robin Lawson (2019), Teresa Lyons (2019), Judy Alford (2018), Tracey Drowne (2018)

Commissions

Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty – Sue Teel (2018)

Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity –Melanie Darden (2020), Robin Lawson (2019), James Venable (2018)

Commission on Faculty Affairs - Velva Groover (2018)

Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies – Hannah Parks (2020)

Commission on Outreach and International Affairs – Bonnie Alberts (2018)

Commission on Research – Steve Nagle (2019)

Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs – Robert Sebek - Chair, (2018), April Myers (2020), Sally Shupe (2020), Sue Teel (2020), LaTanya Burleson (2019), Teresa Lyons (2019), Betty Wilkins (2019), LeeAnn Ellis (2018), Danette Poole (2018)

Commission on Student Affairs - Ronald Mecham (2017)

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies - Robert Jacks (2019)

Commission on University Support – Sarah Woodward (2020), Heather Parrish (2018)

University Advisory Council -Strategic Budgeting and Planning - Robert Sebek (2019)

Committees

Academic Support Committee – Tammie Smith (2019) Athletics Committee – Robena Hughes (2020) Campus Development Committee – Steve Tatum (2020) Commencement Committee – Peter Johnston (2018) Computing and Communicating Resources Committee (suspended 2016-2017) Employee Benefits Committee – Kim Dulaney (2020), Katrina Loan (2019), Melissa Thomas (2019), Energy & Sustainability Committee –Judy Taylor (2019), Alex Guest (2019) Intellectual Properties Committee – Katrina Loan (2018) Library Committee – Sally Shupe (2020) Parking Appeals Hearing Committee – Kelli Hall-Manning (2019) Transportation/Parking Committee – Anna Hawthorne (2020), Kimberly Higgs (2020), Tami Watson (2018) Undergraduate Curriculum Committee – Rachel Saville (2019)