

2016-2017

STAFF SENATE OFFICERS

President: Alex Parrish Biomedical Engineering & Mechanics Innovation Place, Suite 302 406 Collegiate Square Blacksburg, VA 24061 540-231-7530 x3iv@vt.edu

Vice-President: Robert Sebek

University Libraries 3045 Newman Library 560 Drillfield Drive Blacksburg, VA 24061 540-231-1849 <u>rsebek@vt.edu</u>

<u>Secretary/Parliamentary Advisor:</u> Tammie Smith

Summer & Winter Sessions EDM Marketing 300 Turner Street, NW North End Center 3500 Blacksburg, VA 24061 540/231- 7327(O) tjsmith@vt.edu

STANDING COMMITTEES

Communications Open, Chair

Elections and Nominations Jon Wooge (jwooge@vt.edu), Chair CALS College Farm (0402)

Policies and Issues Katrina Loan (katrll1@vt.edu), Chair Physics (0435)

McComas Leadership Seminar Heather Parrish (parrish1@vt.edu), Chair Veterinary Medicine (0442) Tammie Smith (tjsmith@vt.edu), Co-Chair Summer & Winter Sessions (0392)

Staff Senate

http://www.staffsenate.vt.edu/

October 20, 2016 12:00 Noon – 1:00 P.M VBI

AGENDA

Call to order by president, Alex Parrish

Attendance: Please sign the attendance sheet.

Approval of Minutes (electronically)

Staff Senate Standing Committees - Updates

University Council, Commission, Committees - Updates

Presentation: Kirk Wehner, Interim Assistant VP, HR and Operations Speaker: Rector James Chapman, Virginia Tech Board of Visitors

Adjournment

SAVE THE DATE:

Staff Senate Meeting November 17, 2016 Location: TBD

University Council, Commissions, Committees - Staff Senate Representative (term of office)

University Council – Robina Lawson (2019), Teresa Lyons (2019), Judy Alford (2018), Tracey Drowne (2018), Lynn Short (2017), Sue Teel (2017), Tom Tucker (2017)

Commissions

Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty – Sue Teel (2018)

Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity – Robin Lawson (2019), James Venable (2018), Melissa Elliott (2017)

Commission on Faculty Affairs – Velva Groover (2018)

Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies - Open

Commission on Research – Steve Nagle (2019)

Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs – Robert Sebek (2018), Chair (2017), LaTawnya Burleson (2019), Teresa Lyons (2019), Betty Wilkins (2019), LeeAnn Ellis (2018), Danette Poole (2018), Janet Murphy (2017), Julie Shumaker (2017), Sue Teel (2017)

Commission on Student Affairs - Ronald Mecham (2017)

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies - Robert Jacks (2019)

Commission on University Support – Heather Parrish (2018), Christina Lapel (2017)

University Advisory Council -Strategic Budgeting and Planning - Alex Parrish (2019)

Committees

Academic Support Committee – Tammie Smith (2019)

Athletics Committee – Donna Raines (2017)

Campus Development Committee – Melissa Elliott (2017)

Commencement Committee – Peter Johnston (2018)

Computing and Communicating Resources Committee (suspended 2016-2017)

Employee Benefits Committee – Danette Poole (2019), Melissa Thomas (2019), Tami Watson (2017)

Energy & Sustainability Committee -Alex Guest (2019), Judy Taylor (2019)

Intellectual Properties Committee – Katrina Loan (2018)

Library Committee – Mark Steen (2017)

Parking Appeals Committee – Kelli Hall-Manning (2019)

Transportation/Parking Committee – Tami Watson (2018), Annabelle Fuselier (2017), Bruce Harper (2017)

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee – Tracey Drowne (2019)

University Committee on International Affairs – Judy Taylor (2018)