APPROVED
VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE AND STATE UNIVERSITY
STAFF SENATE

Minutes of the Regular Meeting Thursday, May 18, 1995 Room 102, Phase II, Vet Medicine

Senators Present: Sheila Blankenship, Janet Bryant, Shannon Casey, Billie Cline, Joann Craven, Judy Davis, Betsy Davis-Jones, Marge Dellers, Patrick Donohoe, Leslie Graham, Wanda Grubb, Patti Hall, Delbert Jones, Julia King, Richard Lovegrove, Bhaba Misra, Eileen Moccia, Valerie Myers, Mary Pennington, Fred Phillips, Peggy Rasnick, Vivian Rich, Wyatt Sasser, Widget Shannon, Chuck Shorter, Tony Sutphin, Virginia Viers, Deb Williams

Alternates and Guests Present: Michelle Moldenour for Mary Holliman, Spencer Allen for Brenda Husser, Matt Martelli, Sherrie Settle, Cindy Harrison

The meeting was called to order at 5:38 PM.

Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the April 20, 1995 meeting were approved with the following clarification. Page two, under Old Business, second paragraph, the last sentence should be "Of interest to us - furloughs would have to be University-wide; layoffs are not being planned but it could be up to the individual units to police themselves."

University Council, Commission, Committee Reports

No reports were given

Old Business

Some comments on Staff Appreciation Day were as follows: had to wait too long for hamburgers, they started breaking down food lines before people were through eating, lunch should last longer, loved having it in the field house, band music started out being too loud, food was good, should have been more volleyball courts, there weren't enough tickets for tours, not enough opportunities for tours, need published bus schedules, need more musical variety, should consider a Faculty and Staff Appreciation Day.

A senator asked why we don't use this money for scholarships or better use. President Sasser stated that this money came from Dr. Torgersen's account and he felt it was important to have this recognition. President Sasser will pass these comments along.

New Business

Senate elections were held with the following results.

President - Fred Phillips, Vice President - Wyatt Sasser, Secretary - Patti Hall, Parliamentarian - Bhaba Misra,

University Advisory Council on Strategic Budget and Planning - Fred Phillips

University Council (three year term) - Sandra Graham, Valerie Myers

Commission on Classified Staff Affairs (three year term) - Academic Units - Pat Ballard Administrative Units - Peggy Rasnick (2 year term), William Dougherty

Commission on Research (three year term) - Delbert Jones

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Polices (three year term) - Wanda Grubb

Commission on University Support (three year term) - Cindy Harrison

The following nominees will be sent to the President's office for his selection:

Academic Support - Patti Hall, Wanda Grubb

Employee Benefits Committee - Marge Dellers, Vivian Rich, Danny Belcher

EO/AA Committee - Rebecca Scheckler, Debbie Duncan

Meeting adjourned at 6:14 PM.