Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

STAFF SENATE May 16, 1996 Minutes

Senators Present: Spencer Allen, Billie Cline, Judy Davis, Marge Dellers, Rhonda Owen for Debra Duncan, Matt Gart, Sandy Graham, Cindy Harrison, Tom Hergert, Julia King, Adeline Kirby, Dee Lee, Joyce Longrie, Eileen Moccia, Valerie Myers, Ben Poe, Bill Ranck, Widget Shannon, Chuck Shorter, Virginia Viers, John Wooge

Vice President Myers called the meeting to order at 3:13 PM (immediately following the conclusion of Staff Appreciation Day) in the Rector Field House. It should be noted that Ann Spencer granted special permission for the meeting to be conducted during regular work hours.

Approval of the April minutes were deferred to the June meeting, as there currently is no secretarial support for preparation of minutes.

Judy Davis, Chair of Elections and Nominations Committee, distributed bios on nominees for Senate Executive Committee and Committees and Commissions. She then distributed ballots and with the help of her Committee, tallied the votes. Election results were as follows.

President - Spencer Allen Vice President - Valerie Myers Secretary/Treasurer - Marge Dellers Parliamentarian - Delbert Jones

Commissions and Committees nominees being sent forward for Administration's review and selection:

University Council
Kathleen McNinney, Nancy Phillips

Commission on Classified Staff Affairs, Senators Wyatt Sasser, Jon Wooge

Commission on Classified Staff Affairs, Academic Units Phyllis Olinger

Commission on Classified Staff Affairs, Administrative Units Richard McCoy

Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies Dee Lee

Commission on Student Affairs Phoebe Crofts

Commission on University Support Joy Thorn

Athletics Committee
James (J.B.) Brown, Kenneth Jarels

Building Committee Eric Ackerman, Adelene Kirby

Commencement Committee Linda Bucy, Loretta Estes

Employee Benefits Committee Virginia Viers

EO/AA Committee Eric Ackerman, Janet Bryant, Deborah Young

Library Committee
Julie Petruska, Peggy Quesenberry

Transportation and Parking Committee Pat Ballard, Rebecca Brim, Lois Wade

The floor was then opened for discussion on Staff Appreciation Day. The concensus overall that it was the best ever; food was delicious, entertainment was good, and the team relays were fun for participants and spectators alike. Motions were passed to send letters of appreciation to President Torgerson, Ann Spencer, and the Organizing Committee.

Senators expressed concern that the photo and map insert received with parking permits are incorrect. Roads are labelled incorrectly and there is a statement in the material that Spring Road will be re-opened.

Senator Myers encouraged current Senators to bring the incumbant Senators to that last meeting of the year, so that they can observe how the Senate operates.

The meeting adjourned at 3:45 PM.