VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE AND STATE UNIVERSITY STAFF SENATE Room 1810, Litton Reaves Minutes of the Regular Meeting Thursday, October 17, 1996

Senators Present: Spencer Allen, Jody Bolen, Billie Cline, Mary Conrad, Phoebe Crofts, Marge Dellers, Matt Gart, Wanda Grubb, Cindy Harrison, Tom Hergert, Delbert Jones, Reba Rigney, Terry Lawrence, Dee Lee, Kathleen McNinney, Eileen Moccia, Valerie Myers, Ben Poe, Wyatt Sasser, Nancy Sterling, Virginia Viers, Janet Wimmer, and Jamie Wampler

Alternates: Sherri Settle, Mary Pennington for JoAnn Craven, Gwen Ewing for Widget Shannon, Tina Shanklin for Jon Wooge,

Excused: Widget Shannon and Joy Thorn

The meeting was called to order at 5:35 p.m. by President Spencer Allen. Dr. Hugh Munson, Faculty Senate, and Jodie Bowling, College of Architecture, were welcomed.

There were no announcements.

Approval of Minutes: September 19,1996, minutes on page 2, under Other Business should read "The ventilation system is being worked on, cleaned, and tested. The Environmental Health and Safety Services is working on the problem." Also, in the second paragraph under Old Business, the statement reads "Marge Dellers stated that according to Dick..." His last name, Harshberger, should be included. The minutes were approved as corrected.

Dr. David Conn gave a presentation on the University Self Study. He explained that the Self Study is a process performed every 10 years to ensure an institution meets established standards of quality. In addition, it evaluates the extent to which its educational goals are being met. SACS (Southern Association of Colleges and Schools), to which Virginia Tech belongs, is the accrediting association in this region, formed for the purpose of improving education and evaluating institutions using the established criteria. There are two components to the self study, a Strategic Self Study and the Institutional Effectiveness (IF) component. The Strategic component focuses on a topic of our own choosing. "Transforming Virginia Tech for the Information Age", focusing on the use of technology in the learning environment, was selected by President Torgersen following consultation with faculty, staff, and other leaders. The Steering Committee, chaired by Anne McNabb (happy@vt.edu), is divided into subcommittees that focus on the needs of traditional undergraduates, extended campus learners, graduate student/post doctoral researchers and faculty/staff . The second component, IF, requires the university to comply with over 400 criteria, known as 'must' statements. The IE applies to all courses, programs and support services and assesses the degree to which the university is achieving its mission. This gives us an opportunity to reassess functions and focus on areas that may need improving. The timeline for the entire process started in January 1996, and will end December1998. Dr. Conn mentioned documentation of faculty credentials since a misleading notice had been sent to departments. The departments will provide a list of their faculty members and note documentation of their degree. If this documentation is not available, Dr. Conn's office will contact the registrar's office of the college or university which granted the terminal

degree to ascertain a degree was earned. A policy is now in place that requires all NEW faculty to submit documentation within three months of appointment.

Senate Standing Committee Reports

The Communications Committee will develop a brochure, continue revising the letter given at orientation for new employees and use existing handbooks as a source of information. The handbooks will be revised. If anyone would like to work on the web site, please contact Cindy Harrison. The Elections and Nominations Committee will be sending out the fall mailing describing the various Committees and Commissions to which Senate either elects or recommends members. Interested persons should notify their local associations chairs directly, who will then forward these names to the Elections and Nominations committee.

Kenny Jerrell has been appointed to the Sub-Committee for the NCAA Accreditation as part of the Institutional Effectiveness in the University's self study.

McComas Leadership will meet briefly after today's staff senate meeting.

Policies and Issues will meet in the foreseeable future.

Staff/Faculty Officers Meeting - met today and agreed to co-sponsor four forums, President Torgersen, Provost Meszaros, Minnis Ridenour and Erv Blythe. They are scheduled for Tuesday afternoons beginning in January.

University Council, Commission, Committee Reports

Senate was reminder that open enrollment for health benefits is October 21-November 20. The Benefits Fair is October 30.

Old Business:

Deferred Paychecks Information - There was an article in THE SPECTRUM regarding a letter indicating the deferred paycheck issue is being reviewed. President Spencer Allen stated there may not be enough legislative support to prevent the General Assembly from implementing the plan. The General Assembly is scheduled to meet one week prior to the plan's effective date. If there are state employees who are members of the VGEA (Virginia Governmental Education Association), they should contact the legislative liaison to express disapproval of the delayed paycheck. It was recommended that the executive committee appoint a representative to VEA and Senate pay for the membership, subject to legality.

The Breakfast Roundtable - The subject for the next breakfast roundtable will be "Conflict Resolution and Constructive Confrontation." Copies of the flyers will be sent out electronically. The deadline is next Friday, October 25, 1996.

New Business

Tuition Waivers: Taxation of tuition waivers for graduate students was discussed. A package is being prepared and the Benefits Office will review it. An ad hoc Personnel Committee has been formed to meet and discuss personnel issues.

Other

A policy has been recommended to increase the time between classes on

Monday, Wednesday and Friday to 15 minutes. This policy is up for its second reading.

The meeting adjourned at 6:50 p.m. Respectfully submitted,

Marjorie W. Dellers, Secretary Sheila R. Norman, Recorder