# VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE AND STATE UNIVERSITY

# STAFF SENATE

Room 1810 Litton Reaves Minutes of the regular meeting Thursday, May 22, 1997

Senators Present: Spencer Allen, Billie Cline, Mary Conrad, Reba Crawford, Barbara Day, Marge Dellers, Wanda Grubb, Cindy Harrison, Delbert Jones, Terry Lawrence, Joyce Longrie, Eileen Moccia, Ben Poe, Wyatt Sasser, Widget Shannon, Joy Thorn, Janet Wimmer, Jon Wooge, Jamie Wampler.

Excused: JoAnn Craven, Valerie Myers, Nancy Phillips.

Alternates and Visitors: Sherri Settle; Netta Smith, Spectrum.

Spencer Allen called the meeting to order at 5:40 PM

Announcements: Spencer Allen expressed thanks to all those who helped with Staff Appreciation Day and said it went well

Approval of Minutes: Corrections: College of Human Resources and Education not just Education, meeting time should be 5:30 not 7:30, clarification that "staff and other contributors MAY have no legal right," spelling mistakes who's should be whose, and then should be than. Minutes approved with corrections.

Spencer Allen thanked all senators and alternates who served this past year.

Senate Standing Committee Reports:

Communications: There have been a few entries to the logo contest. The deadline has been extended to August 9.

Commission, Committee, and Council Reports:

The Intellectual Properties Sub-Committee final draft of the new intellectual property policy, is about to be sent to the Commission on Research after which it will go to University Council.

Commission on Classified Staff Affairs: Lag pay: Linda Woodard is putting together an official letter which will address the issue in detail and be sent to the university community in about two weeks. There will be no delay in pay date, but there will be a change in salary pay periods with a sum provided by the legislature to make up for the five days involved in the transition. There will be no noticeable change to or interruption of paychecks.

WTA: The buyout program for early retirement that the governor encouraged, has accidentally allocated too much money to many participants. Currently, it is not clear how this money will be recovered, statewide. This should not affect people from Tech because Doug martin, who did the calculations for Tech employees, caught the mistake in the formula and corrected for it.

#### Old Business:

University President has issued a revised smoking policy, which essentially implemented the Staff Senate recommendation from 1992. There was discussion about issues that have not been addressed such as if designated smoking areas outside of buildings are established, provisions be made for cigarette waste so as to minimize burden on custodial staff.

## New Business:

The state leave sharing policy does not include leave without pay. Most requests by individuals for a waiver of the 10 day waiting period will be granted if they have departmental approval. There have been changes in the state sick leave policy. Not 33% of available sick leave may be used for approved family medical leave, not to exceed 12 weeks, retroactive to January 1, 1996. Sick leave balances will be adjusted to reflect this change for those eligible.

A question was asked as to why sick leave cannot be donated. It is believed that sick leave is only redeemable at 25% of face value and only after an employee is vested.

### Elections and Nominations Committee:

The ballot for Senate Officers was unanimously accepted as presented by the Elections and Nominations Committee and secret balloting proceeded.

Election results:

President: Spencer Allen

Vice President: Terry Lawrence Secretary/Treasurer: Joy Thorn Parliamentarian: Delbert Jones

The presented slate of Commission nominees was accepted unanimously and secret balloting proceeded.

Election results:

Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs: Ben Poe

Commission on Classified Staff Affairs:

Senators: Jon Wooge, Cindy Harrison, and Virginia S. Viers

Academic Unit: Mary Whitlock Administrative Unit: Marge Dellers Commission on Faculty Affairs: Tom Hergert Commission on Outreach: Tina Shanklin

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies: Barbara Day

Commission on University Support: Mary Conrad Commencement Committee: Widget Shannon

Transportation and Parking Committee: Wyatt Sasser and Karen Quynn

Spencer Allen asked if there were any issues the Staff Senate would like brought to the attention of VGEA, and if so to please voice your concerns to Delbert Jones or Cindy Harrison by June 21, 1997. It was noted that the parliamentarian is a member of VGEA thus providing representation to and from the Staff Senate.

The meeting adjourned at 7:05 PM

Respectfully submitted,

Marjorie W Dellers, Secretary Krissie Thrasher, Recorder