VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE AND STATE UNIVERSITY

STAFF SENATE 1810 Litton Reaves Minutes of the Regular Meeting Thursday, May 21, 1998

Senators Present: Spencer Allen, Reba Crawford, Jack Davis, Barbara Day, Jill Elswick, Judy Fielder, Janet Francis, Tom Hergert, Delbert Jones, Ben Poe, Charles Rose, Joy Thorn, Janet Town, Virginia Viers, Jon Wooge

Alternates: Rebecca Barlow voting for Nancy Phillips

Excused: Cindy Harrison, Terry Lawrence, Mary Pennington, Nancy Phillips, Peggy Rasnick, Tina Shanklin, Jennifer Simba,

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 PM

Minutes of the April 16, 1998 meeting were approved.

Guest Speaker - Jamie Evans from the College of Arts & Sciences Staff Association (CASSA) gave a presentation on the activities of their staff association. He wanted to convey to other staff associations that there are many projects that exist for a staff to be involved that can benefit themselves and the community as well. These projects do not take up much time as their association finds that people are more than willing to volunteer for a good cause. They have set up web pages and use them to disburse information to the University community. For example, you can check out the CASSA blood drive that will be held on campus June 3rd and find out when future drives are scheduled. They have projects that have become yearly events such as the blood drives, angel tree and apple angels working with the Salvation Army. A reward of doing community projects is that it makes you feel good about yourself, and it has also won the support of their dean and department heads for staff involvement. The CASSA web site address is (http://www.cas.vt.edu/cassa/).

Staff Senate Standing Committee Reports –

University Council, Committees, Commissions Reports –

New Business -

Staff Senate and Classified Staff Representatives Elected for 1998-1999 University Government System

STAFF SENATE OFFICERS -

Staff Senate President: Benjamin Poe, Mechanical Engineering, Mail Code 0238. E-mail address: bpoe@vt.edu, phone: 1-9114.

Staff Senate Vice-President: Cindy Harrison, Risk Management, Mail Code 0310, E-mail address: canoe@vt.edu, phone 1-7439.

Staff Senate Secretary/Treasurer: Joy Thorn, CHRE, Dean-Business Office, Mail Code 0317, E-mail: thorn@vt.edu, phone 1-6428.

Staff Senate Parliamentarian: Terry Lawrence, Vet Medicine, Mail Code 0442, E-mail: talmdill@vt.edu, phone 1-9005.

COUNCIL -

• <u>University Council</u> (Staff Senator elected for a 3-year term)

Benjamin Poe, Mechanical Engineering, Mail Code 0238, E-mail address: <u>bpoe@vt.edu</u>, phone: 1-9114.

COMMISSION -

• <u>Commission on Administrative & Professional (A/P) Faculty Affairs</u>—(Staff Senator elected for 2-year appointment to replace Ben Poe).

Janet Town, Urban Affairs and Planning, Mail Code 0113, e-mail address: <u>jtown@vt.edu</u>, phone: 1-7660.

• Commission on Classified Staff Affairs

Spencer Allen, (Staff Senate representative elected for 2- year appointment to replace Cindy Harrison) Music, Mail Code 0240, e-mail address: spencer.allen@vt.edu, phone 1-8412.

Billie Cline, (Classified staff, academic, elected for 3-year term), Public Relations-4H, Mail Code 0419, e-mail address: <u>bcline@vt.edu.</u>, phone: 1-6086

Betty Greene, (Classified staff, academic, elected for 1 year appointment to replace Bill Aliff), Admin. Agriculture, Mail Code 0402, e-mail bettyg@vt.edu, phone: 1-9679

Teresa Gallagher, (Classified staff, administrative, elected for 3-year term), Scholarships & Financial Aid, Mail Code 0222, e-mail address: glghrt@vt.edu, phone: 1-2142 or1-9554.

• Commission on Faculty Affairs

Jackie E. Davis, (Staff Senator elected for 2-year appointment to replace Tom Hergert), Biological Systems Engineering, Mail Code 0303, e-mail address: <u>jadavis7@vt.edu.</u>, phone: 1-6957.

• Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies

Jennifer Simba, (Staff Senator elected for 1-year appointment to replace Jody Bolen), University Libraries, Mail Code 0434, e-mail address: jsimba@vt.edu, phone: 1-9270.

• Commission on Research

Delbert Jones, (Staff Senator elected for 3 year appointment), Veterinary Medicine, Mail Code 0443, e-mail address: dejones@vt.edu, phone: 1-3718.

• Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies

Janet S. Francis, (Staff Senator elected for 3 year appointment), History, Mail Code 0117, e-mail address: jafranci@vt.edu, phone: 1-8382.

• Commission on University Support

Charles M. Rose, (Staff Senator elected for 3 year appointment), Controller's Office, Mail Code 0312, e-mail address: cmr@vt.edu, phone: 1-2713.

Reba Crawford, (Staff Senator elected for 2-year appointment to replace Mary Conrad, Physical Plant, Mail Code 0529, e-mail address: rrigney@vt.edu, phone 1-9904

COMMITTEE OR ADVISORY COUNCIL APPOINTMENT NOMINATIONS:

• <u>University Advisory Council on Strategic Budgeting & Planning</u>, (nominated officer)

Benjamin Poe, President, Staff Senate 1998-1999. Mechanical Engineering, Mail Code 0238, e-mail address: bpoe@vt.edu, phone: 1-9114.

• Academic Support Committee—3 year appointment

Wanda Grubb, (Classified staff), Animal and Poultry Science, Mail Code 0306, e-mail address: <a href="whythedu.numbed.num

• Computing and Communications Resources Committee—3 year appointment

Carolyn Furrow, (Classified staff), Dean's Office, A&S, Mail Code 0405, e-mail address: furrowcl@vt.edu, phone: 1-5968.

• Employee Benefits Committee—3 year appointment

Jon Wooge, (Staff Senator), CALS/Kentland Farm, Mail Code 0402, e-mail address: jwooge@vt.edu, phone: 731-0589.

Reba Crawford, (Staff Senator), Physical Plant, Mail Code 0529, e-mail address: rrigney@vt.edu, phone: 1-9904.

• Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action (EO/AA) Committee—3 year appointment

Tom McAvoy, (Classified Staff), Entomology, Mail Code 0319, e-mail address: tmcavoy@vt.edu, phone: 1-6320.

Please note that Committee or Advisory Council selections are nominations only. Appointments are made from the President's Office. The names listed may not necessarily be the individuals appointed to serve. The President's Office will make the appointments in the fall.

The meeting adjourned at 6:40 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Joy Thorn, Secretary