## VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE AND STATE UNIVERSITY STAFF SENATE 1810 Litton Reaves Minutes of the Regular Meeting Thursday, June 18, 1998

Senators Present: Spencer Allen, Reba Crawford, Barbara Day, Janet Francis, Cindy Harrison, Delbert Jones, Terry Lawrence, Ben Poe, Tina Shanklin, Jon Wooge

Alternates: Rebecca Barlow voting for Nancy Phillips, Beverly Parkins voting for Joy Thorn

Excused: Judy Fielder, Tom Hergert, Mary Pennington, Nancy Phillips, Peggy Rasnick, Jennifer Simba, Joy Thorn, Janet Town

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 PM

Minutes of the May 21, 1998 meeting were not approved since a quorum was not present.

Staff Senate Standing Committee Reports -

Communications Committee – Chair Cindy Harrison gave a brief report on the June 16<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Communications Committee (handout of the minutes were available). Janet Town will work with Terry Lawrence on the space adjustment for the new Staff Senate Brochure. Cindy will get with Ben Poe, newly elect Staff Senate President, to sign the new orientation letter that will handed out to new staff during their orientation. A new project for the Communications Committee will be updating the Staff Senate's Web Page (staffsenate@vt.edu). Spencer Allen commented about a logo for Staff Senate. He said the University does not support colleges, departments, etc. having their own logos. The University wants only the Virginia Tech logo and marks used. Spencer would like the Senate to give some thought about a Staff Senate seal.

Elections and Nominations Committee - No report.

Policies and Issues – Janet Francis said the last time the committee met was to design the Staff Senate display for Staff Appreciation Day. She said they had received favorable feedback on this display.

McComas Leadership Seminar Committee - No report.

University Council, Committees, Commissions Reports – No Reports from these as the majority finished meeting in April or May. Ben Poe reported that Cindy Harrison is the new chair of the Commission on Classified Staff Affairs. Linda Woodard, Personnel Director, will notify the Commission if a special called meeting will be needed in July.

Old Business -

New Business -

VGEA – Cindy Harrison has returned from a meeting with the Virginia Governmental Employees Association (VGEA)which she has been elected their Secretary. Terry Lawrence will be our representative/liaison from Virginia Tech. Cindy reported that VGEA has received numerous requests from across the state for someone from VGEA to come and talk to state agencies about the new Sickness and Disability Act. Cindy said Joan Dent, VGEA Director, would like to return to Virginia Tech either before the General Assembly convenes or in April after the Governor has signed new bills.

Cindy Harrison expressed a concern about the closing of 400D Burruss, which is where commissions and committees have their meetings. Spencer Allen suggested she talk to Carol Nickerson in the President's Office.

Spencer Allen, out going President, thanked everyone for their participation and involvement with Staff Senate during his two years as President. He said the presidency was an interesting and learning experience, and he is gratified he was able to meet new staff members and help them. Spencer passed the gavel to Ben Poe and the meeting was turned over to Ben.

Ben thanked everyone for their confidence in electing him to this position. He said one of his goals as president was to get staff opinion on trying to change Staff Senate's meeting to lunch hour (12:00 noon to 1:30 PM) one day a month. Hopefully, this change would garner more staff participation. He would discuss this with Linda Woodard and request she approach Dr. Torgersen with the suggestion and also request he give the staff the extra 30 minutes for the meeting.

Ben said another goal of his is to reactivate stalled associations. He said the July meeting will be a brainstorming session on how to reactive these associations.

The next meeting will be Thursday, July 16, 1998, 5:30 PM, in 1810 Litton Reaves.

Meeting was adjourned at 6:10 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara Day, Substitute for Joy Thorn Joy Thorn, Secretary