VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE AND STATE UNIVERSITY STAFF SENATE

1810 Litton Reaves Minutes of the Regular Noon Meeting Thursday, March 16, 2000

Senators present: Jeannie Baker, Becky Barlow, Harry Biggs, Sue Ellen Crocker, Jessie Eaves, Lynne Ellis, Gwen Ewing, Judy Fielder, Janet Francis, Cathy Hansen, Delbert Jones, Jimmy Martin, Ben Poe, Christy Porterfield, Pam Raines, Hilda Reynolds, Virginia Viers, Jon Wooge, Kathryn Young

Alternates present:: Mary Ann Cole (sitting in for Shirley Stone new senator)

Excused: Stacie Cole, Elva Douthat, Cindy Harrison, Shirley Stone, Debbie Wilson

The Virginia Tech Staff Senate was called to order by President Delbert Jones.

It was moved that the agenda be accepted. The motion was seconded and approved.

Last month's minutes (February 17, 2000) were approved electronically.

Unfortunately, our speaker, Aaron McClung, did not show (spring break). He was to speak on the VT Creed. We will plan to have him speak at another time.

President Jones handed out "Five Points of Concern of the Staff of Virginia Tech Compiled by the Virginia Tech Staff Senate" that the Executive Committee discussed with President Seger on Tuesday, March 14. If you were not there and would like to receive a copy of this, please let Delbert know dejones@vt.edu.

President Seger told us that he would reinstate the letter sent to those senators/alternates on Committees, Commissions, and Councils which would excuse them from work to attend meetings during working hours.

Parking was also discussed with President Seger. It was suggested that people who do share rides with other people (and can prove it), possibly they could get a break. President Jones encourages people to share rides to help alleviate some of the parking problems.

Another subject that was discussed was low staff numbers there are still areas that are very critical that have never recuperated from the "early buy-out" and the "early retirement" periods. President Jones also brought up the fact that staff do not get moved up or rewarded for more work put upon them (quantity doesn't mean anything). President Seger was very receptive to these items of discussion.

Another item that Dr. Carole Nickerson, Executive Assistant to the President, discussed with the Staff Senate Executive Committee concerned the University Exemplary Employee Awards. Five employees of the university receive this award each year for being an out-standing employee. The awards, this year in the amount of \$2000 each, will be given out during the celebration of Founder's Day. Unfortunately, nominees from Grades 1-3 have become fewer and fewer. Please remember to nominate staff who are deserving.

Standing Committees:

Communications Committee Co-Chair Hansen stated that the Newsletter is still planned for publication. She also stated that more people were needed for the Listserv. Plans are being made to add more people.

Elections and Nominations Committee Senator Barlow requested nominations from the floor for vacancies in Committees, Commissions and Councils. Commencement Committee needs some nominations, so if you know of someone who is interested, please let Senator Barlow know. Nominations are needed for AP Faculty Commission, Commission on Faculty Affairs, Commission on Student Affairs (need to replace Aaron Hill - Senator Sue Ellen Crocker volunteered), Commission on University Support (Senator Pam Raines volunteered). Nominations for Staff Senate offices were also taken. Cathy Hansen was nominated to serve a second term for Secretary; Jimmy Martin was nominated for Vice President; Delbert Jones was nominated to serve a second term for President, and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President, and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President, and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President, and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President, and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and Becky Barlow was nominated to serve a second term for President and

McComas Leadership Seminar Committee: Senator Eaves stated that the registration forms would be coming out soon. Again, the date is May 4, 8am-12noon in Owens Banquet Hall, south side.

Policies and Issues Committee: Depending upon notification of whether our Amendment passed the BOV, Senator Martin stated that they were on hold.

A motion was made and seconded that our next Staff Senate meeting be changed to May 11 at noon (the Thursday before our regularly-scheduled meeting) due to Staff Appreciation Day being on May 18. It was unanimously passed.

A problem with War Memorial Hall closing at 5pm during Spring Break has been rectified; it remained open until 7pm, allowing staff to use its facilities.

Our speakers, Linda Woodard and Judy Ridinger, gave us an update on the Pay Plan and answered questions brought up by the Senators.

Ms. Woodard did state that they were no longer accepting invitations for them to speak from staff associations. Instead, she and Ms. Ridinger were contacting the deans and department heads to set up information sessions to reach more staff and faculty. She stated that a letter will be sent to all staff within the next two weeks.

Staff Senate adjourned at 1pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Cathy Hansen, Secretary Staff Senate