STAFF SENATE Minutes 1810 Litton Reeves

Thursday, May 15, 2008 12:00 noon – 1:00 p.m.

Attending: Bonnie Alberts, Judy Alford, Susan Archer, Cindy Booth, Jean Brickey, Sam Camden, Christina Brogdon, Holly Carroll, Shelby Cole, Dan Cook, Linda Correll, Sue Ellen Crocker, Jessie Eaves, Andy Fortin, Laurie Good, Karen Hall, Walter Hartman, Geraldine Hollandsworth, Jennifer Hundley, Travis Hundley, Delbert Jones, Rob Lowe, Lori Kirk, Louellen, Warren Lucero, Maxine Lyons, Sharp, Hannah Swiger, Chris Thomas, Tom Tucker, Doris Waddell, Hubert Walker, Vicki Walter, Ken Weiringo, Alvin Williams.

Excused: Robin Atkins, Catherine Caldwell, Lisa Cotting, Cindy Koziol, Lori Lee, Bradley Scott, Jim Baker, Joyce Landreth,

The meeting was called to order, agenda approved, and minutes accepted.

Announcements:

McComas Seminar Update – Judy Alford noted that the seminar was very successful and many people complimented the event.

Staff Senate National Conference Update—Judy Alford, Jean Brickey, Tom Tucker, and Maxine Lyons met with Linda Woodard, Hal Irvin, and Lisa Wilkes to discuss the National Conference. Many helpful ideas were discussed and though the money may not be available, ways were discussed in how to obtain funding if the event is planned. A committee was called for and anyone interested in working on the event is to email Maxine Lyons by the end of the month (May 2008).

The June Senate meeting (normally scheduled for the third Thursday of the month) has been moved to June 12^{th.}

VT-ENGAGE Senate Project has been very successful and all are asked to bring canned goods to the next Senate meeting as well as other opportunities. Robin Atkins, Velva Groover, and Walter Hartman are contacts to pick up foods as they are collected in different departments and areas at the University.

Tom Tucker reported that the two CSPA resolutions (2007-08A and 2007-08B) brought to the University Council on May 5th were passed. The CAPFA resolution also passed at the council meeting. The resolutions can be viewed on the senate website.

Tom also recognized the two winners of the first Staff Leadership Award – Melissa Williams, Fiscal Coordinator, in Mechanical Engineering and Linda Correll, Laboratory Facility and Resource Manager, in VBI. Congratulations to Melissa and Linda!

Program

Nick Pachis, IT Security Analyst and Wayne Donald, Director IT Security presented a very important and informative program about IT security at VT. This presentation can be viewed on their website at http://security.vt.edu

The Next meeting will be June 12, 2008, and the guest speaker will be Tom Brown, Dean of Students. With no more discussion the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted, Maxine Lyons Senate Secretary