STAFF SENATE Minutes Randolph Hall, Room 117A, Thursday, June 21, 2012

12:00 noon – 1:00 P.M.

Attending: Bonnie Alberts, Susan Archer, Brent Bowden, Dan Cook, Velva Groover, Amanda Grose, Geraldine Hollandsworth, Robena Hughes, Hal Irvin, Denise Jones, Maxine Lyons, Steve Myers, Karen Nicholson, Heather Baldwin Patel, Angie Robinson, Wyatt Sasser, Llyn Sharp, Louellen Sharp, Sue Teel, Chris Thomas, Tom Tucker, Nick Vaught, Ken Wieringo, Patricia Williams, and Jon Wooge. Dennis Herron, the new Senator from University Libraries also attended.

Excused: Aaron Akers, Lori Greiner, Jennifer Hanratty, and Shelly Key.

Guests: via telecom with Room 401 at the Northern Virginia Center in the National Capital Region: Lise Visser, Graduate School Staff Association

Opening: President Maxine Lyons called the meeting to order. The telecom link to the Northern Virginia Center was already set up to include their representatives. The Agenda was adopted without change. Susan Archer read the sections of the May minutes that had been corrected according to the comments supplied by Senators to the electronic version circulated through the listserv. Llyn Sharp from Geosciences requested that we all introduce ourselves since there were probably new representatives present.

Standing Committee Reports:

Policies and Issues will need a new representative since Delbert Jones has retired.

Robert Sebek, representing the Communications Committee gave no report as he was absent.

Jon Wooge reported that the <u>Elections and Nominations Committee</u> has wrapped up the year with the exception of finalizing the rosters based upon the individual staff association elections and representatives to Staff Senate.

Leslie Thornton-O'Brien was not present to report on the <u>James D. McComas Staff Leadership Seminar</u>.

Program: The planned program was Commission progress reports and some committees if possible.

<u>University Council</u> is attended by various individuals, and one representative inquired how we are to know who attends and the discussion points of those meeting.

<u>University Advisory Council – Strategic Budgeting and Planning</u> was reported by Maxine Lyons, who gave us a "heads up" for the coming academic year. Leave reform issues from last fall will be carried over.

Sue Teel reported that <u>CSPA</u> (<u>Committee on Staff Policies and Affairs</u>) has not been really busy. On their agenda for 2012-13 are the McComas Award selection and the Staff Career Achievement Award nomination plans.

Robena Hughes reported on the <u>Commission on Faculty Affairs</u>. The long-range Strategic Plan, impact of the Inter-Modal Transportation Facility, Conviction Check policy, and Policy #6105 (Periodic Review of Academic Deans) were the 2011-12 areas of attention and effort.

Robena also spoke for the <u>Athletics Committee</u>. Guest coaches spoke at each meeting, and the committee spent time discussing issues of season seats at the games.

Dan Cook reported on the <u>Employee Benefits Committee's</u> efforts toward opening McComas for faculty and staff use, retirement planning, the Benefit Fair, the Family Medical Leave Act.

Louellen Sharp reported that the <u>Library Committee</u> spent time getting acquainted with the new Dean, redesigning the web site, discussing embracing digital opportunities, redesigning some spaces, and a letter to the Provost requesting that library funds not be cut.

<u>Transportation and Parking</u> will be discussing revision of appeals for parking violations in the coming year.

Sue Teel reported that the <u>Commission on University Support</u> will be addressing the Stadium Woods and multi-modal transportation issues next year.

Old Business: None. **New Business:** Maxine Lyons thanked her outgoing officers with bouquets of flowers and presented the incoming officers with seed packets: President Sue Teel with morning glory seeds for climbing fences and scaling obstacles; Secretary Leslie Thornton-Obrien, zinnia seeds for keeping records, Vice-President Dan Cook, chives, a subtle herb to keep things light and spicy as well as provide back-up to others. Hal Irvin was given a small candle to symbolize the guiding light that he has been to Maxine during her term as President.

Jon Wooge thanked Maxine for her years of to the Staff Senate. Wyatt Sasser moved to adjourn, and Maxine gave both gavels to Sue Teel.

Next Meeting: The next meeting will be Thursday, July 19, at a location yet to be determined. The guest speaker will be announced at a later date.

Respectfully submitted, Susan L. Archer Senate Secretary