## STAFF SENATE Minutes Randolph Hall, Room 117A, Thursday, August 16, 2012

12:00 noon - 1:00 P.M.

Attending: Sue Teel; Dan Cook; Susan Archer; Leslie Thornton-O'Brien; Heather Patel; Bonnie Alberts; Ken Wieringo; Louellen Sharp; Robena Hughes; Kim O'Rourke; Llyn Sharp; Steve Myers; Angie Robinson; Judy Alford; Shelly Key; Anna Hawthorne; Lori Greiner; Dennis Harron; Beverly Williams; Karen Nicholson; Maxine Lyons; Becky Saylors; Hal Irvin; Robert Sebek; Wyatt Sasser; Denise Jones; Lisa Visser

Excused: Jennifer Hanratty; Patricia Williams; Aaron Akers; Jon Wooge; Velva Groover

Opening: Sue Teel, Staff Senate President, called the meeting to order. New Senators were welcomed.

Minutes approved with one change: Lisse Visser is a Senator and not a guest.

Senators introduced themselves and the area they each represent.

Sue Teel explained that all Senators are required, by the Staff Senate by-laws, to serve on at least one standing committee. Each Chair told a little about what their committee does. A sign-up sheet was then passed around with explanations of each committee from the Staff Senate by-laws attached. Standing committees and Chairs are:

Policies and Issues Chaired by Anna Hawthorne

Communications Committee Chaired by Robert Sebek

Elections and Nominations Committee Chaired by Jon Wooge

James D. McComas Staff Leadership Seminar Chaired by Leslie Thornton-O'Brien and Susan Archer last year

It was recognized that the Library has questions about how to amend their by-laws.

## **Standing Committee Reports:**

Policies and Issues Chaired by Anna Hawthorne

Communications Committee Robert Sebek

Elections and Nominations Committee Jon Wooge

James D. McComas Staff Leadership Seminar Leslie and Susan chair last year

Program: Kim O'Rourke, President's office, chief of staff (see attached presentation)

Old Business: no

New Business: please look for an email from Sue regarding the Rector's visit next month and disseminate the email to the staff in our area.

Wyatt noted the email

Next Meeting: September 20, 2012; ICTAS 310 (ICTAS on Stanger Street)

Respectfully submitted, Leslie Thornton-O'Brien Senate Secretary