STAFF SENATE Minutes 117A Randolph Hall May 16, 2013 Noon – 1:00 pm

Attending: Susan Archer, Hal Irving, Ashley Roberts, Robert Sebek, Sue Teel, Leslie Thornton-O'Brien, Tom Tucker, Nick Vaught, Ken Wieringo, Jon Wooge, Kristin Gilbert, Joseph Goodman, Andy French,

Excused: Dan Cook, Velva Groover, Amanda Grose, Robena Hughes, Brandy McCoy, Alex Parrish, Donna Raines, Angie Robinson, Wyatt Sasser, Amy Tanner, Elizabeth Visser, Sally Wieringa

Guest: Becky Morris

Remote Attendance: Northern Virginia Center in the National Capital Region connected.

Opening: Adoption of Agenda approved, Changes to Minutes

Announcements: Please send Leslie Thornton-O'Brien (lthornto@vt.edu) a note if you will not be in attendance at the Staff Senate meeting so that she may mark you excused.

June meeting moved to June 27th because we have an opportunity to meet with Dr. Steger in 117A Randolph Hall.

Staff Senate Standing Committees - Updates

Policies and Issues – Anna Hawthorne
Communications Committee – Robert Sebek
Elections and Nominations Committee – Jon Wooge
McComas Leadership Seminar Planning Committee – Dennis Herron

All Senators are expected to sign up for one standing committee, per Staff Senate by-laws.

University Council, Commission, Committee Reports:

University Council – too numerous to list

University Advisory Council - Strategic Budgeting and Planning - Sue Teel

Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs – 10 Senators, including Chair

Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity - Bill Ortega, Cris Thompson, Susan Rosebrough

Commission on Faculty Affairs - Velva Groover

Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty – Jon Wooge

Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies - Janice Austin

Commission on Outreach and International Affairs - S. Llyn Sharp

Commission on Research – Leslie Thornton-O'Brien Last meeting of the year. Any issues that you would like for the commission to address, please forward to Leslie Thornton-O'Brien or Sue Teel.

Commission on Student Affairs - Robert Sebek

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies - Anna Hawthorne

Commission on University Support – Maxine Lyons, Tom Wertalik

Academic Support Committee - Cindy Koziol

Athletics Committee – Robena Hughes

Building Committee – Daniel Marion

Commencement Committee – Eric Wininger

Employee Benefits Committee - Amanda Grose, Dan Cook, Judy Taylor

Energy & Sustainability Committee - Becky Saylors, Tom Tucker

Intellectual Properties Committee -

Library Committee - Louellen Sharp

Transportation/Parking Committee – Ben Poe, Bruce Harper, Patricia Williams

IT Support (inactive)

Program:

Becky Morris, Insurance Coordinator, Department of Human Resources

- Please see your spotlight newsletter
- Emergency room copays going up because too many employees are using the ER's as urgent care facilities
- Getting new insurance cards MUST use these new cards
- Be VERY CAREFUL not to confuse the Flex Card with your P-Card!

Go to ALEX and let him give you the price comparisons (alexforcova.com)

There is an increase in premiums, but you do have an opportunity to decrease it.

Next Meeting: June 27, 2013
Speaker: President Charles Steger Location: 117A Randolph Hall

Respectfully submitted, Leslie Thornton-O'Brien Senate Secretary