## Staff Senate Meeting Minutes September 21, 2023 12:00 p.m.

North End Center, Room 2420 and via Zoom: virginiatech.zoom.us/j/89618402157

**Present:** LaTawnya Burleson (presiding), Saadia Ali, Callan Bartel, Robin Cooley, Kristen Cox, Denise Crawford, Pat Donovan, Kari Evans, Nikki Gland-Turpin, Amanda Hill, Amy Ingram, Frank Kerr, Petie Martin, Jamie McElfresh, Lida Mitchell, Steve Nagle, Eric Newton, Sarah Owen, Tasia Persson, Amber Robinson, Sally Shupe, Tamarah Smith, Becki Smith, Mary Sullivan, Judy Taylor, Eric Tysor, Chris Whitlock, Christina Winkeler, and Marty Wyatt.

Absent with Notice: Hannah Menefee and Serena Young.

**Absent:** Lisa Bishop, Zai Cook, Amy Linkous, Katrina Lockhart-Elfeky, Ron Mecham, Dennie Munson, Janet Murphy, Amy Pendleton, and Jennifer Pike.

Guests: Darraie Brown, Dartel Brown, Becky Burns, Debbie Cash, Leslie Cherry-Marshall, Sonja Crockett, Kayla Dean, Douglas Epps, Annabelle Fuselier, Laura Gazda, Gwen Ghee, Andrea Gobourne, Joseph Goodman, Andrea Green, Kindred Grey, Alexander Harlow, Sherry Hollandsworth, Robena Hughes, Allison Jones, Tracy Jones, Danielle Kauffman, Lynda King, Monique Logan, Carrie Mayer, Daniella Miller, Vicky Moore, April Myers, Amanda Pester, Erin Olson, Heather Parrish, Jasmine Phillips, Alicia Pierce, Tracy Price, Elvis Rosario, Katherine Santos, Alyssia Schwenke, Carol Slusser, Heather Snidow, Demetria Somervell, Himadri Sunam, Tammy Wolf, Chenaye Woods, and Marsha Wright.

President Burleson called the meeting to order at 12:05 p.m. A quorum was present.

#### 1. Adoption of Agenda

The agenda was adopted.

#### 2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of July 20 and August 17, 2023

President Burleson noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the web (http://www.governance.vt.edu).

### 3. Presentation

Ms. Amy Sebring, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, gave the Senate an overview of her portfolio and answered questions after the presentation. The presentation is attached and a recording of the meeting is posted on the Staff Senate's website.

### 4. Announcements

• The October Staff Senate meeting will begin at 11:00 a.m.

### 5. Adjournment

There being no further business, President Burleson adjourned the meeting at 1:00 p.m.

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer (EVPCOO)

Amy S. Sebring



Executive Assistant to the EVPCOO

Teresa Wright



**Chief of Staff** *Brennan Shepard* 



## **EVPCOO Leadership Team**

Vice President for Campus Planning, Infrastru cture, and Facilities Chris Kiwus



Vice President for Auxiliary & Business Services Lynsay Belshe



Vice President for Finance and University Treasurer Ken Miller



Vice President for Human Resources Bryan Garey



Vice President for Information Tech nology and Chief Information Officer David Raymond



Vice President for Policy and Governance Kim O'Rourke



Vice President for Audit, Risk, and Compliance and Chief Risk Officer Sharon Kurek



Associate Vice President for Equity President for Equity Safe

Kelly Oaks Mike



Associate Vice President for Public Safety Mike Mulhare (interim)



# **University Operations Leadership**

Executive Director of Business and Management Systems Al Cooper



Senior Human Resources Business Partner Steve Filipiak



Senior Director of Finance and Business Operations Debbie Greer



IT Transformation Program Director Zo Qazi



Senior Director of Communications Stephanie Overton

