Virginia Tech® home


Communications Committee

Primary Responsibilities:

  • Informs the staff, university community, the Board of Visitors, and the Virginia State Legislature as to the mission of the Staff Senate.
  • Communicates information to staff concerning new employee orientation, employee training and development, incentives and rewards, benefits, retirement planning, and related matters utilizing university and non-university media and/or other appropriate means as needed.
  • Interfaces with university and non-university media sources to provide information on Staff Senate activities when appropriate.
  • Fulfills communications needs of Staff Senate as requested by the President or Executive Committee.

Chair: Denise Crawford

Committee Members: Robin Cooley, Amanda Lucas, Petie Martin, and Mary Sullivan

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Committee

Primary Responsibilities:

  • Under the leadership of the chair(s) this committee creates a safe space for honest, inclusive, and respectful interaction among staff members. The DEIB Committee works on initiatives specifically tailored for VT staff members. Recent projects include a peer mentoring program and speaker series. The committee is made up of Staff Senators and Alternates from across Virginia Tech and the events and initiatives are intended to reinforce the VT Principles of Community.  

Chair: Tasia Persson

Committee Members: Chris Akers, Kari Evans, Nikki Gland-Turpin, Amanda Hill, Jamie McElfresh, Jasmine Phillips, Sally Shupe, and Marty Wyatt

Elections and Nominations Committee

Primary Responsibilities:

  • Coordinates the Staff Senate elections process. This committee is responsible for ensuring that the Staff Senate Constitution and Bylaws are followed when electing Staff Senate members, officers and representative to the University Council, Commissions, Advisory Councils, and Committees.
  • Composes a list of nominations for Staff Senate officers and representatives to the University Council, Commissions, Advisory Councils, and Committees as needed.
  • Makes recommendations to the President for appointment of members and chairs to Staff Senate committees.
  • Monitors elections of senators by the staff associations and oversees votes on proposed amendments to the Constitution and Bylaws of the Staff Senate.

Chair: Judy Taylor

Committee Members: Amy Ingram and Amanda Lucas

McComas Leadership Seminar Planning Committee

Primary Responsibilities:

  • Under the leadership of the chair(s) this committee plans the annual staff leadership seminar (McComas) that is open to all University and Classified full time staff at Virginia Tech.
  • Strategize as a group to find faculty and staff leaders from around campus to speak to issues of staff leadership. (acquiring, communicating with them, coordinating speaker notes, speaker gifts, etc.)
  • Provide a program which meets staff where they are, and helps them grow their skills as leaders.
  • Other areas of planning include: Venue (acquiring, working with caterer, layout of events, Audio/Visual, ADA compliant, etc.); Registration; Door Prizes; Goody Bags; Sponsors; Vendors, and Helping the day of the event (communicating issues, answering questions, assisting participants/speakers/venders).

Chair: Nikki Gland-Turpin

Committee Members: LaTawnya Burleson, Kari Evans, Tracy Jones, Petie Martin, Becki Smith, Mary Sullivan, and Serena Young

Policies and Issues Committee

Primary Responsibilities:

  • Serves as a link between the Staff Senate and the Office of Personnel Services and/or University Administration in general on personnel and related matters.
  • Brings to the Staff Senate's attention changes in policies and procedures that may affect the staff and advises the Staff Senate on these issues. This includes monitoring the activities of the University Council, Commissions, Advisory Councils, and Committees that may affect the staff.
  • Provides assistance to the staff in obtaining educational leave, tuition waivers, and other educational opportunities.

Chair: Amber Robinson

Committee Members: Chris Akers, Robin Cooley, Pat Donovan, Jamie McElfresh, Lida Mitchell, Sarah Owen, Amie Pendleton, and Chris Whitlock

Ad hoc Committees

There are currently no ad hoc committees supported by the Staff Senate.